Nicotine is addictive: How do certain corporations exist?

http://adbusters.org/

This isn’t one of Adbusters more deep and abstract messages but it’s one that should be heard.  I may not be the most savvy when it comes to intelligence or media but I’m certain that nicotine is addictive.  I tried to give up smoking once and I got 3 hours of sleep.  I kept waking up aching for a cigarette but I prevailed (for a while).  Around 2 pm later that day someone asked me how I felt and I responded, without missing a beat, “This is the worst I have felt in a long time and I’ve had bad times but this is right up there” and then I went into a tirade that consisted of having a hopeful violent confrontation with a mugger or grinding a pencil into fine dust to see if I could smoke it.  I felt certain that if either of these scenarios panned out it might alleviate the stress anxiety, and agitation I felt.  I ended that with saying “Thanks for asking”.

In this particular clip, fittingly titled “Dirty Dozen” we are given twelve members of a major smoking corporation at some sort of Board Meeting who all answer the infamous question of whether or not nicotine is addictive.  Each member gives the  response “No”.  I guess denial and justification in the context of law and ethics stretch extremely far.  What was even more sinister, at least to me, was that they were reminded that they were under oath.

Question: How much harm does a company have to do before we question its right to exist?

Anyone with half a brain can figure out that nicotine is addictive whether they’re a smoker or not. There’s a reason why people who attempt to give up smoking find themselves gaining weight, having mood swings…..the list goes on.  There are pharmaceutical companies offering solutions to this particular group of people in the media.  If I know anything for certain I would say that no one should ever say with a straight face say that nicotine is not addictive.

Leave a Reply

